I am entering the final couple of weeks before the race. Last Sunday, I completed my longest bike ride ever and my last long ride of the training, 115,15 miles.
This ride hurt a bit. Since I repaired my saddle the settings are not quite the same and after just 20 miles I was feeling already a bit uncomfortable. The back hurt, crotch was numb...
After the ride, I remember thinking there was no way I would be able to run a marathon. Well..  I will have to do that in just a few days...
When I look back on my training here is what I can conclude so far.
     -My swim training has been pretty good in terms of teaching my body  endurance but I am still slow. Moving forward I will have to do a lot more speed drills. For the race though, I think I have done enough to at least get me ready to cover the distance. If I am fair to myself, it is quite an achievement since I remember that I could not swim more than 50 - 75 yards without stopping just a few months ago.
     -The biking has been so-so... I am very disappointed that I missed 2 or 3 long ride when it counted the most (top of my peak phase). For the future I will have to maintain consistent training for a few years if I am to become good at this sport. I would also really benefit from buying a trainer to focus more my training (intervals, speed drills...etc)
     -The running has been great. I have not really missed any critical training sessions and I feel ready.
     -Transition work has been okay. I feel like I have learn enough during my practice races and training to avoid major mistakes. There are still a few unknown with this coming race (ex: getting rid of salt water before biking..etc). I now know that I will need socks on the run and probably on the bike as well even if I had planned not to initially. I know how to organize my transition area, and I am confident I will get the job done on D-day.
     -When it comes to nutrition, I have a basic plan which comes down to this: feed 300cal/ hr and see what happens. With a good breakfast in the morning, I think it should work even though there are probably n degrees of potential refinements which could bring about better performance.
     -The big unknown is putting it all together. The Utah half race I just did gave me a hint that I am ready for a full Ironman. But my training has still left some questions marks. Rarely have I felt ready to run after a long ride. and I have only done the 112 miles once...

At this stage, it is point less to worry about what was done or not. I think I have done enough to complete the distance. I will have to pace myself according to how I feel and race conditions.
I am looking forward to the adventure!



Leave a Reply.


UA-34310491-1 UA-34310491-1