Yesterday, I went for a half marathon but instead, I ran only 8 miles... Yes, once again, I felt this heavy, lethargic feeling that plagued me last week-end in my twenty miler. I finished the 8 miles at a relatively slow but not at all effortless pace of 7:57 per mile.
Given the fact that I had been running uphill in the mountains the day before, I guess that I am trying to push the pace too soon after the run.. Actually just before starting the run, my legs were feeling a bit sore. 
I am definitely training a bit too hard especially since I am running the Top of Utah (Logan) marathon next week end.
The mistake I am making is pretty clear here. I don't feel sufficiently prepared for the marathon, so instead of tapering, I am pushing the intensity on each workout... Okay body, I hear you... today I am starting the taper. 
I had wanted to rest only the last week but maybe this is too much.

In the morning, I had another swimming lesson (#4). I just need more practice... Following all the intricate pieces of the movement at the same time is a bit much for me to handle at the moment. When I focus on my left arm, the right arm is not in position, or my head is pointing the in the wrong direction, or my feet are sinking...etc. This is tough but I think it is coming slowly.

I also really wanted to do another speed session of running. This is very important to improve my pace. 
So in the evening, when the temperature was cool  (69F ~ 20.5C),  I went back to the high school track for another set of intervals. 
When I arrived there however, I realized that it was football night... 
I reluctantly drove back home, but on the way back I decided that I did not want to waste this precious day of training. I stopped my car near my usual trail and decided to run a 5k as fast as I could.
I haven't been practicing this distance, but I thought this would be a good threshold / speed exercise without completely destroying my legs for the week end.
By then, it was past 9pm and I really love running in the dark. The trail is asphalt and very smooth, so despite having no light, I knew I wouldn't lose my footing. My legs were still a bit heavy, but not sore.
I started hard, although not all out. I usually run my half mile repeats on the track in about 5:45 pace so I wanted to stay as close to 6:00 min/mile as possible. However, the trail is slightly hilly. Not very much at all (just about 100 feet gain over the 5k) but these little hills at 6:00min/mile really took the wind out of me.
I completed mile 1 in 6:14. A pretty nasty stitch appeared in my right flank. I pushed on. Mile 2 was done in 6:20, the stitch was not going away and in fact getting a bit worse. Just one more mile... 
At this stage, it started to hurt a bit. My lungs were on fire. I glanced at my watch and by the middle of mile 3, my pace started to slip a bit. I was running at about 6:30 per mile pace. I pushed harder. I finished mile 3 in 6:17. In the last 0.1 mile, I picked it up one more notch. 5:55min/mile pace.
I finished the 5k in 19:27  (6:16 min/mi).
Not bad considering I have not trained for that distance. In fact it might be my best time over 5k. I really think my interval training is starting to pay off. 




Leave a Reply.


UA-34310491-1 UA-34310491-1