Last Sunday (9/9/12), I completed my last long run before Top of Utah marathon. I wanted to run 13.1 miles but it didn't quite happen that way. I started in the mid morning and the temperature was already hot. Furthermore, I had to deal with 10% incline and a strong headwind in the first few miles. 
I decided to run in the trails around the Draper temple which despite being close to home I had never really explored. In fact, I had never really known there were so many different trails there. It quite an enjoyable experience. The trails are quite stunning there. To get the views down the valley there a bit of a climb, but well worth the effort.
For the first time, I took my Galaxy S3 phone to take the pictures during my run. I have not yet received the special running case so I did not experiment with the running apps on this run yet. I will do some running app reviews in the coming months.
The trail is quite gorgeous but hilly. The adventure of discovering a new trail made the miles pass in a flash. The path was shady and I haven't enjoyed a casual run quite like this in a while...
Pretty soon though, I reached less shaded portions of the trail on my way back down the valley and the sun really started hammering down. This is when I realized that not taking water with me had been a pretty stupid mistake.
When I reached mile 10, I was really dehydrated and I could barely run. I opted for a run- walk pacing strategy (euphemism?) and painfully dragged myself back home. I completed the run in an average of 9:34 per mile. Pretty slow really, and not ideal for my confidence entering the last week before my marathon. 
On Monday, I took a day off to ensure I would have enough energy for my last speed training.
I went back the West Jordan high school track with the intention of running 6 fast half mile intervals with 1:30 recovery in between. But yet again, I was greeted with a strong wind, aligned with the length of the track. I really felt it...
0.51mi 2:52 (5:36/mi) 
0.51mi 2:55 (5:47/mi) 
0.51mi 2:54 (5:41/mi) 
0.51mi 2:57 (5:48/mi) 
0.51mi 2:59 (5:52/mi)  
I could almost maintain the same pacing as my last track session. However, I had no energy left after the fifth interval.

On Wednesday night, I went back to the pool for lesson #...5? I think.
Unlike last time, it was a very productive class. I really started to feel the movement. At least, I occasionally feeling the efficient "gliding" in the water. I really need a lot more practice, but it is starting to come together.

Today, I almost went back for a short easy run but since my legs a still a bit sore from the speed training, I decided against it.
Tomorrow is marathon's eve. I am driving to Logan where I'll be getting my race package and will stay at the hotel for a short, hopefully not sleepless night.




Leave a Reply.


UA-34310491-1 UA-34310491-1