As I mentioned before, I have started a swimming class: "Total Immersion".
I have never been a swimmer and all I have ever been able to manage is breast strokes with poor form. 
Obviously this could be a problem when trying to undertake an Ironman race...
Monday night at 7 pm, I met my coach for a second private session. In fact I arrived an hour early and practiced some more total immersion drills from class #1.
The first time I ever tried my kicks a couple of weeks ago, they were producing absolutely no movement, no matter how hard I was trying. I am happy to report that today, while still not effortless, my kicks are moving me at a reasonable pace. Even coach exclaimed: "Good, that is a strong kick. You're really cruising!" Okay, I understand the value and power of positive reinforcement and I know I am not yet an Olympian but I definitely feel the difference.
Today we added some arm movements along with the kicks. I am still struggling a bit trying to keep a mental checklist of where all my body parts should be at all times but I really feel this is taking shape. Proper swimming form is really about the quality of the movement. There are so many important details, body position in the water, hand position, elbow orientation...etc to keep track of to swim efficiently, this is going to take a lot of practice and repetition.
I remember the awkwardness of my movements in the water at my first lesson a couple of weeks ago. But today after only a few practice sessions, I actually felt comfortable in the water. Wow! How motivating. I can't wait to go practice some more...




Leave a Reply.


UA-34310491-1 UA-34310491-1