This week is promising to be a tough one... I have to catch up with one speed session and add 3 more. I also have to try to do a long run. I have a marathon in a couple of weeks and I have not done a proper long run since October...

Monday night was dedicated to catching up with the speed sessions. The workout was another 2x (2x800m) with 3 min recovery between reps and 6 min between sets.
I completed the first rep in 2:52 (a bit slower than I would have wanted). I tried to go faster in the second rep but fried myself with a somewhat mediocre 2:47.
The 6 min recovery between sets did not feel like it was long enough. I resumed the workout with a 2:57 and was really feeling it at the end. In the last rep, I was completely blown and could not accelerate. I finished, nearly jogging in  3:05. Tom 5, Me 5
Again, the performance is disappointing. If anything, I am slowing down. On 10/30/12 I performed all my reps faster than this. I am wondering if the very cold weather is affecting my performance in anyway or if I am doing too many sessions leading to poor recovery and performance.
If I don't start seeing some improvements in the next couple of weeks. I will have to make some adjustments to my plan.
On Monday night, after the run, I finally decided to start my knee rehabilitation exercises. 
These are really a pain to do and they took almost an hour to complete. I have a choice though... Either I bite the bullet and invest time in these exercises, or I take an extended break (a month or two ) in my running schedule. For now the choice is clear... I will give these exercises a chance and hope for the best.
Tuesday night I had a business dinner but I decided that there was just enough time  before then to squeeze in a quick track session.
I did a 8 x 300 m with 30 sec recovery. The goal pace was 5:40 and I managed around 5:30 - 5:35 average giving me a slight edge on Tom for this workout. 
With 2 speed workouts in 2 days, my legs were feeling it but my knee was good. 
The dinner was great... and also a serious violation of my diet requirements...probably a 3000 calorie meal... Ouch!

Afterwards, I came back home too late from the dinner to do my knee rehab exercises. 
Wednesday, I took a break. No running but I did more of the rehab stuff.
Thursday, the speed work was 4 x 600 m with 3 min recovery. Goal was 1:55 per rep. 
In the first rep, I mistakenly stopped at 500m. I completed the rep in 1:41 so I believe I was on pace for about 2:00.
I tried to accelerate in the second and performed a 1:57. Amazing how just a few seconds faster fell so much harder.
The third rep felt hard almost right away and I blew up at the end. 2:03
In the fourth rep, I had nothing left 2:13.
Far from objective...  
On Saturday, it was time for a mile TT. Since the wind was very strong again, I decided to run in an indoor track (the Olympic Oval). I completed the mile in a very disappointing 6:01.
My performance seems to really be going downhill in the last few weeks... Probably a sign of over training even though I really do not feel tired or sore.
On Sunday, I tried a long run. I had a 20 mile run schedule but the absence of endurance training in the last few weeks is really starting to show. I barely ran a very slow 14 miles (10:15 min /mi+) in the trails around home is very muddy conditions. In fact the trails were officially closed because of the mud. 
Monday, I am waking up with sore legs and the realization that my performance is really at the bottom both in terms of speed and endurance.
The only silver lining is that it has been the first time in weeks if not months that I have been running more than 13 miles without the knee giving out. Sure the knee is sore today, but I see progress.
I will be creating a new category to this site shortly to help dealing with injuries as I believe that the rehab exercises I perform everyday are really starting to pay off and help me recover. 



Leave a Reply.


UA-34310491-1 UA-34310491-1