On 11/3/12, it was time to evaluate my performance over 1 mile with a time trial. I went to the track for the workout Saturday morning before lunch.
There were only a couple of guys running around the track so I could really focus on the mile. The goal was to beat 5:32 (to beat Tom).
I started the first lap in about 1:22 (5:30 pace) and tried to maintain it in the following laps but at lap 3, I started to slow down. I did not feel I was slowing down. My perceived effort was pretty consistent. The only indication of my slowing down came from listening to the cadence of my feet hitting the ground.
It was confirmed by a glance at my watch every lap. 
I finished the 4th lap (1 mile) in 5:44. A bit disappointing but not so surprising given previous performance over that distance.

On Sunday, I wanted to try a longer run (which I have not been able to do in a while). But after only 6 miles, the knee pain started to intensify. I turned around and completed a total of about 8.5 miles.



Leave a Reply.


UA-34310491-1 UA-34310491-1