This week has been good training wise so far...I managed to complete all the planned training and feeling okay. 
Today was hard though. This morning I woke up after 7 hours, feeling like I'd been run over by a truck. I forced myself to step out of bed and collected my thoughts on the side of the bed for several minutes before mustering the strength to start the day...After that, it didn't get any easier... I felt very tired on the long 45 min commute to the spinning class. 
The spinning felt difficult (even though it was an easy zone 3A day). 
On the run I tried to push the speed slightly and ran 9 miles in an hour, but every mile was a mind game to keep going. Thoughts to push the stop button kept trying to impose themselves from mile 2...I think I'm starting to get really bored of the treadmill. 
After the run, my left foot kept reminding me that it didn't agree with the treatment and I limped to my car. The slow 1.5 hour commute to work on the snow covered roads was tough as I still felt sleepy.
Later, I took a light lunch and went to the pool. The training plan called for 1000 yards but I managed only 700. 
However, it's at the pool that I got my first breakthrough in a while. 
I started slowly, trying not to push too hard with the legs and I managed 250 yards without stopping. I completed these first 250 in 5:50 (faster than my time  of the indoor triathlon race a couple of weeks ago!). I didn't try to go for speed, yet it is faster than I have been able to swim since I started. On top of that, 250 yards represents a great improvement in swim endurance for me. 
After the first 250 yards, I rested for about a minute, and completed another 250 yards! (6:02). The second interval felt much harder, but doing 2 - 250yards in a row is a first ever for me. After that, I did 2 x 100 yards, which again is more than the usual 50 yards at a time that I do.
This really encourages me to keeping pushing the swim. I am definitely going back to the pool tomorrow...
Tonight though, lights out at 7:30pm max!



Leave a Reply.


UA-34310491-1 UA-34310491-1