Here we are... Less than a week  before the Rivalry Relay race. This race will be an excellent training run to prep for my marathons.
I will be running 3 legs totaling 13 to 14 miles. My first leg is leg#3. Fairly easy although I trained on it a few weeks back and it can be very challenging with a strong head wind. Also, I will have to be careful not to start to fast in the first hill. I plan to run it at 7:04/mi avg pace
My second leg will be leg 10. A complete downhill from the top of Suncrest down towards Lehi. I planned a 6:00/mi avg pace
My third leg is Leg#15. A hard 3.9 mile leg with a tough hill towards the end. I have never run it so I think I have to try it tonight. Goal pace is 7:48/mi
Update: I ran that leg at 7:08. Piece of cake. This leg was a lot easier than I thought it would be. It starts with some downhill sections for about 1.5 miles, then becomes more or less flat. The last couple of miles are a slight to mild uphill and this is where I'll have to remember to keep some energy for the end. The main difficulty will be to pace this right.

I ran an interval session yesterday. 6x400m (0.25mi) with 1 min recovery. I am barely starting to resume interval training. In order for me to qualify for Boston I will have to run faster than I am at the moment and this is the only way I know to improve my speed. 



Leave a Reply.


UA-34310491-1 UA-34310491-1