This week and next I am reducing the training intensity before ramping up again. It's funny to think that I am calling this a recovery week because I still trained 12 hours this week. Much more intense than marathon training... In a couple of weeks I'll go back up to about 20hours a week!! 
This is proving to be a very time consuming endeavor. But I am committed. I think the Ironman race in September will require every minute of the training I am going through to be able to complete without a trip to the emergency room.

I am finding myself to be in good shape on the run, but I have a lot of catching up to do on the bike and the swim. 
In fact, it will probably take a couple of years of persistent training for me to reach a level that I find satisfactory (top of age group shape). 

I am slowly getting more comfortable on the swim. I now swim 2000 yards several times a week and it does not feel terribly hard as it used to. When I switch to open water though, I seem to lose my bearings. I can't swim in a straight line, I don't feel comfortable, my wetsuit seems to pull on my shoulders... I am really not there yet. Sure I can swim a mile, but my already slow swimming pool pace collapses in open water. I am trying to do one open water session a week now to try and find my groove.
Picture
trying to follow a L shape swim line in open water proved to be a bit of a disaster this week end...
On the bike, I am a bit better, but very far from where I want to be. On the rides with my tri club, I can really measure the difference of fitness between the triathlete that have been riding for years and me. I am still one of the slowest riders of the bunch which is not a pleasant feeling.
Furthermore, I rarely (if ever) feel ready to run after a long run. Somehow, I am going to have to start practicing that soon.

Transitions have been a total disaster in all of my races so I will need to practice that seriously.

7 WEEKS before the Ironman race! I still feel far from ready...



Leave a Reply.


UA-34310491-1 UA-34310491-1