The date is approaching fast and while I feel just about ready to complete the course, I don't feel any confidence at all to be able to 'race' this distance. None of my long rides have gone particularly well. I usually am completely out of energy past 3 hours of riding and I have never quite been able to complete the planned long ride times on my schedule.
The half Ironman distance demands more respect than other races I have participated in. I will probably be on the course for about 6 hours so I better take it seriously and have a good plan to handle the rigors of the race.
It is quite challenging because I have no experience racing for that long especially not in a triathlon.
This race is my B-race. I signed up for it to gain experience for my Ironman distance race in September.

I have been thinking about this race for a couple of weeks now and the more I try to think about the details of the race, the more questions I have. What pace should I go for on the bike? Should I go really easy to make sure I can run afterwards? In any case what does easy mean on a relatively flat course? Should I use heart rate zones exclusively to pace myself? How fast will I be able to run? My experience running sub 1:30 half marathons may not be relevant here and I probably need to adjust my expectations. But by how much? How should I pace the different parts of the run? How about nutrition??

Just thinking about it does not help without a method.
With all these questions in mind, I decided to learn by reading on line blogs, forum posts and articles.
With all that information, I created a detailed racing plan from the pre-race stages to the end of the race (below).
The main concern for me is proper pacing. I am worried to pace too slow because I know I will be disappointed with an average time, especially if I don't push myself hard.
I have to try to remain realistic though. I AM a beginner triathlete and this is my very first half Ironman. This is a B-race which main purpose is to learn.
This means that everything considered, the result is not that important but it also means that I can allow myself to find the upper limit of my ability on this distance without too much fear of bonking.

With all these ideas I designed a plan for a sub 5-hour target finish time. I think for my ability, this would be a best case scenario time, but right now, from the comfort of my armchair, it does not seem completely impossible to achieve...



Leave a Reply.


UA-34310491-1 UA-34310491-1