It has been only a few days since St George marathon but I can't help but wanting to plan for more racing. Getting so close to the 3 hour mark (sort of unexpectedly) made me get a feel for how great it would be to wrap up the year achieving such a goal that not long ago I thought to be long term and out of reach. 
Consequently, I could not help but sign up for another marathon race, the California International Marathon in Sacramento on 12/2/12.
Hmm... maybe a bit impulsive and not my greatest decision ever...

A day later after making all the arrangements, I am wondering if it would not have been better to take a break, regroup and refocus for the next season.
I started thinking more about what I really wanted to accomplish. Would more marathon running this year (the 7th marathon of the year) be in line with my ultimate IronMan goal? Eventhough I have been quite successful this year going from race to race and managing 4 marathon PRs in 6 races, I am not convinced that I can keep this up without changing my training. 

If I think back about my training this year, I have not varied the training much. The occasional speedwork, some tempo and never failed going for the long runs.
Sure, it seems like I am hitting the basics, but I believe that another year like this would result in a plateau-ing of my performance. I just do not believe that my average 40 mile/week mileage can take me much further than a 3 hour marathon.
What to do then? Increase the mileage? What about triathlon training?
What do I really want? 
At nearly 40 years old, I do not have years and years of fast running in front of me. I believe that with the right training I can dip significantly under a 3 hour marathon within the next 2- 3 years. After 45 (gees just 5 years away) my performance is likely to dip significantly. My life circumstances might change as well. I might become less motivated...etc

I am also not willing to back down from my 2013 IronMan goal. However, I believe that for a first event participation, I can not expect to finish an IronMan fast. There will be so much learning involved  finishing will be a feat in itself. I have not expectation of time for it.
Keeping these thoughts in mind I decided the following:

1) I am going to refocus / rethink my training for a fast marathon training in 2013. My training will start ASAP with a heavy emphasis on high intesity/short distance (mile to 5k) for the next 18 to 20 weeks (until February). The goal is to significantly increase my running speed. In the meantime I will keep improving my swimming technique. It will not take much energy and I should have time to go to the pool once or twice a week during that time.

2) The following 6 months will be focused on improving my mid-distance (10k to half marathon) running ability while maintaining the running speed on shorter distances.
During that time, I will be running the Boston marathon. This means that this marathon will not be a primary goal for me. I plan to just go and enjoy the experience.

3) Around August 2013, I will start training for my IronMan (light base building training as time allows) with an emphasis on marathon running since I will pick my marathon A-goal around the September time frame. 

4) Once my marathon is done (and my goal of sub 3 hours hopefully achieved) I will switch to triathlon training with emphasis on biking.

5) Ihave been wanting to do some ultra running starting next March, but clearly this is incompatible with my plan for next year and therefore, I will have to resist the temptation and push this back to 2014.

I will post my new training plan until February (emphasis on running speed training) in the training section shortly.



Leave a Reply.


UA-34310491-1 UA-34310491-1