Since the beginning of last week, I am starting to feel like my routine is easier to follow. As long as I can get in bed around 7:30pm and fall asleep around 8 - 8:30pm I feel pretty good and getting up does not feel like emerging from a 5 week coma.
The spinning class is great. It is starting to ramp up in difficulty and I am enjoying the challenge. I get 3 challenging workouts a week and 3 recovery ones. I like the structured aspect of this program, gently increasing the challenge and taking you to higher level of fitness gently without you even noticing it. After a few weeks though, I really do feel stronger and more confident in my abilities on the bike and I can't wait to take my Felt on the roads again.

On the running side things are going pretty well too. I finally got rid of the pain on both of my knees and I have been increasing the mileage again. Last week was my first week over 40 miles in 13 weeks! I have been running on the treadmill almost everyday of the week as the temperatures remain blisteringly cold out and the air pollution is Beijing-esque here in Salt Lake with the typical winter "inversions".
This week end however, I opted for an outdoors long run. My first 13 miler outside in a long time. I made a little video of the run. I might post it here a little later but it was so shaky I am not sure it is worth it.
I was worried that the low mileage and all the running inside would have really affected my running fitness. It may have to some extent, but after running 13 miles with relative ease outside I feel I can get back to the running shape of my life soon. 
The only real issue I have with my running at the moment is the persistent pain on top of my left foot. I think it originated from over-tightening my shoe laces and was only made worse by experimenting with the Yankz lacing system.
After an easy 10k on the treadmill today, I am limping in pain...

The swimming remains my biggest challenge. I am starting to feel a bit worried about my lack of significant improvements and I am seriously taking another round of coaching. I feel like my swimming performance is plateauing. In the last several weeks, I have not been able to swim more than 100m without stopping. It is pretty frustrating...

I went skiing again this week end. The weather was so bad that my camera caught little of the action. I'll post a video a little later.





Leave a Reply.


UA-34310491-1 UA-34310491-1