The goal of this workout is to simulate and practice marathon pace.
Tonight, I was planning a half marathon after work. The weather was still hot for a long-ish run (about 90F) but definitely getting a bit cooler than the past few days.
From the start, I felt the back of my legs a bit tense, probably from yesterday's speed workout. I still decided to go for it. With my next marathon in a couple of weeks, I really feel compelled to push the runs a bit more than usual. 
I know this can be a mistake though. The risk is not only of increased injury, but it can also be counter-productive. If your body is not well recovered, the quality of the workout will suffer. Sometimes skipping or spacing a workout is the best bet. 
Tonight I was feeling fresh enough to attempt it though. If I could stay at about 7:00 min /mi pace, I knew the workout would be worth while both physically and for my self confidence.
I started downhill fairly fast, feeling good and locked the first mile in 6:15.
The next 3 miles were a slight uphill and I managed 7:05, 7:13, 7:04.
So far so good...The next miles were a mix of flat portions and rolling hills.  I was a bit winded but still feeling good despite the heat. I finished the next miles in 6:56, 7:08, 7:12 and 7:06. By the end of mile 8, I was really running out of juice. Not only was I starting to be very hungry (it was 7:30pm and I had not had anything to eat since lunch) but the recent workouts were starting to catch up with me. My legs were feeling shot, very tense and a bit sore. 
To avoid risking injury I decided to call it a day and jogged the 5.25 miles  back home, still feeling good about the workout.
I had managed to stay right on pace: 56:01 for 8 miles (7:00 min/mi pace).
Tonight I will sleep well.



Leave a Reply.


UA-34310491-1 UA-34310491-1