These last couple of weeks have been a bit tough on my morale. The swimming is not improving as fast as I had hoped, and getting up at 4 am has been particularly hard this week. On Wednesday, when I woke up, I was so tired that I almost didn't get up. I dragged myself out of bed and had some trouble keeping awake driving to the spinning class. In fact I did about half of the spinning session, left in the middle of it and went to sleep in my car. 
I am going to bed at 8 pm everyday, but waking up that early is still a challenge for me regardless...
This morning (Friday) I did not find the courage to go spinning. Instead, I got up at 5:50 am and went running for an hour at the gym before work.
On the plus side I have been keeping up somewhat with weight and core work out (even though I keep them fairly minimum in length...)
I was so tired this week that I could not force myself to go swimming in the morning. Instead, I took a bit of time during lunch to go swim for 30 min everyday (except today).
I did another video of my swim.
In my opinion what's improved is the following:
     -better symmetry. I am starting to train myself to breathe on both side every 3rd stroke (instead of every second). I am still struggling on the left side but eventually I should get it.
     -better head position in the water (looking down)
     - slightly better arm position (trying to bend elbows a bit more, and arms not crossing the midline)

What's not working:
     -legs still a bit out of control (need more controlled kick and legs still sinking a bit)
     -Still no endurance. I have to stop every other pool length to catch my breath.
This last point is what discourages me the most right now.  Since I have started swimming I have seen no significant improvement in endurance.



Leave a Reply.


UA-34310491-1 UA-34310491-1