Today I took my first swimming lesson.
I decided to learn using the Total Immersion methodology. 
First step was to do some kick practice at the pool. In the beginning, it was a bit discouraging as kicking hard in the pool resulted in a lot of bubbles and splashes, but no movement at all.
But after a few pool lengths and constant adjustment and advice from my coach, I was able to move at a modest pace. Breathing was done by rotating my torso half way on my back. However, this kick exercise was so hard that I had to spend most of the time breathing on my back rather than practicing head down in the water. 

This was really challenging and uncomfortable for me. I swallowed a lot of water, felt constantly out of breath, the water was getting inside my ears and I even got an ear infection as a result. 
I am not discouraged though. I know it will take a few days of practice to learn the movements and feel more at ease. 



Leave a Reply.


UA-34310491-1 UA-34310491-1