This week has been amazing so far. I have so much energy! Looks like I am finally turning the corner! The 4am wake up is not particularly enjoyable for a late night owl like me, but it feels more like a routine than a chore now. 


This week has been the heaviest spinning class workload. We're pushing beyond the VT (ventilatory threshold). 
The term “ventilatory threshold” refers to the point in a progressive work exercise test where a lactic acidosis begins to develop. Other terms for this transition include “anaerobic threshold” or “lactate threshold”.
This value was set at the beginning for each member of the class with a short stationary bike trial. This allowed the coach to establish everyone's heart rate zones in reference to that VT.
My heart rate zones are as follows (by memory..):

Zone 1 <127
Zone 2 127 to 140
Zone 3a 141 to 151
Zone 3b 152 to 160
Zone 4a 161 to 169
Zone 4b 170 to 179bpm
Zone 5 >179bpm

The class is currently in its phase 3 and we are exploring higher heart rates and training to maintain these higher values for longer and longer.

Today, the workout kept us 18 minutes in zone 5 and my heart rate maxed out at about 185!

Typically, I go to the spinning class 6 days a week, one hour each time except Tuesdays and Thursdays' 90 min which are also higher intensity workouts.
This week I followed these tough workouts with one hour of running on the treadmill at the gym. I find this particularly convenient because by the time I get to work I have completed 2:30 of solid continuous exercise. Also, with this schedule arrangement, I push the swimming to lunch time which feels a lot better. I still dread jumping in the pool at 6am...

This way, I've managed to fit all 3 sports in one day twice this week. That's about 3 hours of exercise each time... In the evening, I usually follow up with a quick core or weight lifting workout. Nothing that takes more than 30 min. Just enough to maintain tone in the right places...

Also, I signed up for a (small) triathlon race this Saturday. It is a super sprint distance, and fully indoors and will be the first triathlon I ever participate in!
The distances are very short (250yd swim, 8 mile bike and 2 mile run) which gives me the confidence that I will be able to finish the swim :)
The primary goal of this race, is simply to get exposure to triathlon racing and particularly everything that surrounds the race itself: how to handle the preparation of the transition areas, practice the transitions get familiar with the wave start process and basically get some sort of rough triathlon orientation by trial. 

Now I have to pace myself...The road to Ironman will be long and tiresome. It is only January and the intensity will only ramp up until summer time.
This will be very demanding on my schedule. Right now, my pool sessions typically are only about 20 min. I get out of breath and exhausted so fast! But later in my schedule I will have to train for up to 4000 yards at a time during the week.
 
Since my knees are feeling better, and the temperatures a bit warmer, I am planning to restart my long runs outside during the week ends. I have not run outside consistently for what seems like an eternity. With the Boston marathon coming up in April, increasing the mileage is going to be very important to do very soon...
Somehow, I managed to catch what seems to be another minor running injury.
The top of my left foot is sore after my runs. Probably an slight inflammation of the tendons that raise my toes. I'll have to watch that because it's not gotten any better in the last few days...

Last week end, I exchanged my GoPro silver edition for a black edition and this week I ordered a bunch of attachments so I am eager to play with it this week end. I am considering filming my entire triathlon experience with it, but I am not sure yet. I am also planning to return skiing this week end, and do another small video while skiing...






Leave a Reply.


UA-34310491-1 UA-34310491-1