Picture
I approached this race without too much pressure. I do not have a goal for half marathon race so for me, this was an occasion to set a benchmark for myself for this distance and an opportunity to have fun (This is a costumed race).
I decided to go as the zipper face zombie and this "costume" was quite a hit. Countless runners asked me a picture with them or raved about the goriness of my complexion.
I shocked a few but most were enthusiastic about it. 

Picture
After a bus ride up the canyon to Sundance, the runners waited for race started in one of those giant instant sprung tents. The wait was long (about 3 hours) and cold. The temperature outside was just below freezing and the tent did not feel much warmer at first. However, after a costume contest and several hours of a few thousand people breathing in it and the temperature was a bit more bearable.
The goal for me for this race was to finish under 1:25:00. In the back of my mind of course, I was going to try to catch the 1:20:00 mark if possible, but my training suggested that I would not be able to run that fast yet.

The race started at 9 am sharp. At the start things were a bit hectic. Not much room for hundreds of runners pressing down a steep canyon on icy roads.
I managed somehow to avoid slipping and slalomed my way close to the lead of the race. After starting slow near the starting line, running around runners and avoiding collisions, I still managed a blistering 5:20 in the first mile.
Perhaps a bit fast for my level of fitness... But no matter.. In this type of race, where there is no real pressure, it is a great time to experiment, make mistakes and learn. 
Shortly after passing mile 1, I felt my right shoe laces coming lose and soon they were flapping against my left calf. Damn! I decided not to stop right away. I wanted to take full advantage of the fast downhill section to get away from the pack and besides, my hands were nearly frozen, making the task of tying my shoe nearly impossible.
I pushed on and completed mile 2 in 5:44. I was still feeling good but by the end of mile 2, this sub 6 pace started to remind me that I was running a bit out of my league... A stitch on my right side forced me to slow down just a bit. By the end of mile 3, the steep downhill section was over and a gentle 1% decline took its place. Mile 3: 6:18.
Shortly after mile 3, I decided it was time to tie the shoe. The constant slapping of the calf was really starting to piss me off. I took a short break on the side of the road, kneeled down and my hands were so numb, it took all my focus to be able to tie my shoe. I lost about 30 seconds.
At mile 4, I started feeling very winded, somehow I was not feeling quite right. So that's what it feels like starting way too fast... Runners started passing me slowly but steadily as I slowed down to slighlty over 7:00min/mi pace
I decided to try to stay around that pace to recover for a while:
Mile 4: 7:03
Mile 5: 7:08
Mile 6: 7:04
When I passed mile 6 I started feeling good again. Sure the pacing had been stupid. Had I maintained a steady 6:15 pace from the start, I would already be 1 minute ahead. Well, no time to dwell on mistakes...I was focused on the remainder of the race at this point. 
Mile 6 started great and I was able to complete the first quarter mile at about 6:15 pace without too much difficulty. I was back in the race! But at mile 6.5, the uphill portion of the race started. I knew I just had to hang on close to 7:00min/mi, without blowing up, as the climb lasted only about 1 to 1.5 mile. Then the rest of the race was downhill.
However, shortly after mile 6.5 as I was straining a bit to keep on pace, a jolt of pain hit by left knee. The pain was so sharp and sudden that it stopped me in the middle of my stride. I walked a few yards trying to assess the situation.
I knew going in the race that there was a real possibility that my knee injury would play up. At my last long run a week before, the pain had hit me only after 8 miles but the pace was much slower. I had come with a mind prepared for that possibility and had decided beforehand that I would fight through the pain.  The injury, probably an overuse injury : tendinitis / ITB or something similar, would probably not get much worse by running 6 - 8 miles on it. 
I resumed the run, but after only a couple of strides the pain hit me again with a vengeance. This time, the pain was so severe that the muscles in my left leg contracted all at the same time in reflex and I nearly lost my balance. 
There was no question in my mind that I would not be able to fight through the pain on this one. Even the walking required careful consideration to prevent horrendous pain. A slight twist of the foot would bring me agony. 
I decided to walk to at least the end of the hill. Hell, I might have to walk the whole way...
Mile 7 took 10:18. Mile 8, 13:18. Shortly after mile 8, I decided to attempt to run again. I started very carefully, shortening my stride as much as possible to limit the strain on the knee and surprisingly, this felt okay. I decided to accelerate very progressively:
Mile 10 : 7:23
Mile 11 : 7:15
Mile 12 : 7:11
Mile 13 : 7:12
In the last 0.1 mile, aside from the leg, I felt fresh. I allowed myself a strong finish at 6:12 min / mi.
I completed the half marathon in 1:39:49. Sure I wanted to do better (much better) but this is one of these times were I did not feel I had the full control of the outcome. So I did the next best thing: I finished the race.
This is the first time I have to cope with an injury while running a race. It was painful but I learned a few things in this race again:
     -The importance of early pacing and its effects and consequences later in the race
     -The importance of careful preparation of smallest details, like tying your shoes properly!
     -At last, another experience that continues to strengthen my mental fortitude. I will need it if I intend to become an Ironman.





Leave a Reply.


UA-34310491-1 UA-34310491-1