Ever since the St George marathon, my left knee has bothered me. As a result my training has suffered a bit. In fact I decided to shift my speed training by one week which will leave me almost no time for my half marathon prep. 
Well there is no choice but wait for the knee to feel better. The last thing I'd want is to start the race with a painful injury.
The knee has been feeling better and better though. Last week end, I started an easy run only for the soreness to stop me after just 2 miles. On Monday I started the speed training and the first mile felt good even though I was pushing hard. On Wednesday I went for a hard 8 miler and was able to push for a good 5 miles without pain (at mile 6 the pain reappeared and I stopped). 
So there is definite improvement. I am taking another couple of days of rest and will try an easy 10 miler this week end.
If everything goes well, I am starting the speed training on Monday, while the Provo half marathon will be the following Saturday.

Monday I also went to my swimming class and it was horrible. I went at 7pm after a 14 hour work day and felt unfocused, uncoordinated and after 2 weeks without swim practice I felt like I did not improve and perhaps went a bit backwards. I still have not learned the full movement yet (breathing) and I just have 1 or 2 lessons left). I scheduled another lesson on Saturday, hoping that by keeping the lessons closer I will retain more.




Leave a Reply.


UA-34310491-1 UA-34310491-1