These last couple of weeks, I have been feeling really bad...A rhinovirus, came to visit my lungs...twice, and now I am battling a food intoxication due to questionable seafood. Not to mention, my knee (not so much the left, but the right this time) is still bothering me since the last marathon race.
I am in my second week of IronMan training and the change of schedule is an added stress to my body.
All to say that I have decided to make some drastic adjustments to my plan.
1) Since I signed up for an IronMan in September 2013 (instead of November) the time to train is shorter and I had to re-evaluate my training priorities. This means that I am cutting my speed training / contest out of my program.
I have too much to worry about right now for this to be a priority.
2) I really need to focus on swimming. I am not getting the results that I need at the moment, so I really need more emphasis on it
3) My body is really sending me some messages that it urgently needs a break. With the stress of the new work outs, I need to back off in some other areas. Since I have had a streak of running injuries, I have decided that it is time for me to take a break from my favorite activity. 

There it is.. On paper, I liked my new plan.. But right now, I am not capable of doing it. I need to first cut down on the running to recover from my injuries while slowly ramping up the other disciplines, acquiring the necessary skills, endurance to do everything at once.
Right now, getting into the rhythm of a proper ironman training is really kicking my butt.
I get up at 4 am everyday, and that alone, considering that I am not at all a morning person, is a real challenge.  
I will be posting my revised plan soon, but it roughly goes like this:
-Bike (spin class in winter time) 5 to 6 times a week (60 to 90 min)
-Swimming 4 - 5 times a week. 
-Running, when recovered, I will go back to about 40 - 50 miles a week. 
-Weight training 3x per week
-Core training 3x per week (to prevent future injuries)

As I mentioned, swimming is still my biggest challenge. I have signed up to a new gym which allows me to go to the pool often. I am swimming very badly at the moment. In fact, I am able to swim only 5 pool lengths (5*25m) in one go. After that, I get exhausted as I am not able to breathe properly. Right now I do only 300m during each pool session and I end up a bit defeated every time as the improvement is slow or non-existent...

The biking class is good. I don't find it particularly difficult or tiring at the moment but it might be because it is only the beginning of the class.
However, tomorrow, I have a 20 min time trial in zone 5 which may be my biggest challenge on the bike yet.

The running is currently on hold. I am a bit worried that I will lose a bit of my running shape, but I am also aware that I need the break.

I also alternate core and weight training sessions, which I keep fairly brief and basic. My weight training consists of a chest exercise (push ups or flat bench press), a back exercise (lat pull downs or row) and abs (usually reverse crunches)
My core exercises are the most boring aspect of my training. They don't appear to produce any immediate tangible effect, but I know that in the long run they will help me avoid injuries. The exercises in the routine were prescribed to me by my physio and are custom designed to address some of my core weaknesses.

I have yet to find my groove in this training which is tough both physically and mentally even though I am in the early stages of it and consequently at the easiest difficulty level.

By far the biggest adjustment though is the early wake up. When I wake up at 7:00 am, I am a zombie, so at 4 am now... I really am in another dimension. In the long run, if I can adapt, it should be the most efficient way to organize my day to fit in all the exercise. 
Yes this Iron man project promises from the early stages to be the really tough challenge that I wanted it to be. 
Am I up for the challenge? ... One thing is for sure...I will be tested.



Leave a Reply.


UA-34310491-1 UA-34310491-1