Today was long run day. I was going to follow my usual Porter Rockwell trail.
I set off at about 4pm for a 20 mile run. 
From the beginning I felt something was off. The first downhill portion that I usually run at about 6:30min/mi felt slower than usual. Sure enough, my watch confirmed this: 7:40.
After the first mile, the trail started uphill going west and again, I was putting in more effort than usual. Even though the air temperature was much lower than it had been in the past weeks, I really felt the 4pm sun beating on my head. I was really sweating. Something else was wrong too. In the past, I managed to run much faster at the same effort level, with more heat. This could have have been caused by an inappropriate lunch. I had some almond butter, and I think this was causing trouble in my digestive system. It was just too heavy for such a run.
I settled into a 7:55min mile pace which felt much harder than it should but was still manageable. After about 5 miles, I was still struggling and was mentally shattered. At that point I seriously considered turning back home.
I had all the good reasons. It just was not my day, I was struggling. If I tried again tomorrow I would feel so much better. I could never do the 20 miles feeling that way...etc 
But I thought... I have no time to push back this run. Pushing it one day, is one day lost for another workout and my marathon is just around the corner. I really need to do this today.
I reluctantly pushed on. My pace was sliding and by mile 11, I was averaging 8:45 per mile. I continued the run and actually from mile 9 to 11, things were looking up. I was still slow, but I was feeling okay. 
At mile 12 however, I looped back to the Draper library and I contemplated the enormity of the remaining task. I needed to return on Porter Rockwell trail and follow it uphill for 3.5miles. Then after crossing the bridge it would be another 4.5 mile loop. I knew that this last loop was going to be psychologically devastating. After the bridge, I was to start the loop uphill running the opposite direction from home and it would feel like starting the run all over again. 
There was no way I could run this in the shape I was in, I thought. 
By then, my legs were heavy and every step felt like a stumble. Instead of following my normal route I decided to loop around the Draper park. Each loop was about 0.75 mile. If I could just loop around the park until the 16.5 mile mark, I could just go straight back home through the trail. 
The loop was more manageable psychologically. I could just count the laps. In addition, I could drink from the water fountains whenever I felt like it.
After the 6 loops at about 9:00min /mile, I turned back home. The trail was a slight uphill all the way to home from here. Just 3.5 miles more.
My pace slipped further 9:20, 9:30..., 9:45. Ouch.
When I reached home I felt nauseous. I tried to have a light dinner but could not keep it in. I had lost about 5lbs and because of the dehydration, I was not able to eat. I took a shower and went straight to bed.
This was a bit of a set back in terms of pace. I was nowhere near being able to run close to my Boston Marathon qualifying target pace of about 7:10/mi.
On the other hand, most of the physiological benefits of endurance training are not achieved through fast running, but through running long. And by that metric, I had done my part.



Leave a Reply.


UA-34310491-1 UA-34310491-1