I took an unusual 2 days off in a row. That's because tomorrow, I will need all my energy for a quality long run. The objective is 20 miles, and since I have not run this distance in quite a while, the prospect of it is a bit daunting.
So today I decided to relax and go for a little practice swim. I wanted to review the movements learned in my previous class so that I am ready on Monday for class #3.
I really am starting to enjoy being in the water, I love the relaxed feeling that comes afterwards and seems to stay with you even hours later.
The practice went pretty well although the pool temperature was too hot for me (86F). I am starting to feel comfortable with the arm movements and my kicks are getting a lot better. No more of that frustrating, useless pedaling in the water. I even passed a few slow swimmers using just my kicks.
My main problem now however is the breathing. With my head under water, I am quickly out of breath. I feel my heart pounding hard in my chest after just one pool length (25m) and I can only breathe properly when I roll almost fully on my back.
I am eager to learn more...



Leave a Reply.


UA-34310491-1 UA-34310491-1