Christmas was an great opportunity to gorge on some delicious foods ( see my weight graph...ouch!) and forget the training just a bit. Since I was off from work and there was no spinning class, I really relaxed a bit. I banned myself from running for a good week after the few knee worries I've had and I have to say this was the right decision. This week end, I ran twice and went skiing (vid below) and there is no issue with the knees. YAY!
Yes the video is from a GoPro H3. I have finally got around to unpack it and start using it, so I'll definitely try to post more footage here...
I have only gone swimming only twice last week and just did the minimum on weight training.
Picture
Yes, between Christmas and New Year I did not hold back and it shows (weight in kG)
Yesterday I went to Sundance and skied for a few hours and then  gorged myself (again!) on the fabulous Foundry Grill Buffet with a bunch of friends. Later in the afternoon I did a 8.5 mile run and felt great. I feel ready to crank up the mileage again! (Slowly though...)
All that relaxing and late night craziness means the return to the routine is a bit hard. Again, I feel a bit jet lagged this morning and the swimming has gone completely out of control again! I feel optimistic however: my running injuries seem behind me and I feel ready to fully implement my training plan.
My swimming is still really bad. I feel like I fell back almost to square 1. I am really struggling to maintain decent forward momentum and I am out of breath in a couple of pool lengths. I might be able to use this video tool to improve my technique though. Before watching the video, I never realized how much my legs were sinking. A new focus point for me...
Tonight (New Year's Eve) will be another crazy night with 30-40 friends and there will be no possible avoidance of excess indulgences...



Leave a Reply.


UA-34310491-1 UA-34310491-1